Reclaiming Words like Dyke, Fag, Tranny and Queer.

Recently, I’ve seen a lot of people giving a lot of negative attention to these words and others. I just finished watching a video about reclaiming words like dyke, fag and tranny on YouTube by Arielle Scarcella (aka GirlfriendsTV) and I’ll add Queer to that list. I’ve been called names for being gay throughout my life and I’m sure many of you have also. Words can be used to harm or for self empowerment or like armor as Arielle puts it.

I’ve used the phrase ‘Queer as Faith’ for my blog and twitter for a while now. And over that period of time, I’ve been treated bad in comments and an occasional question as to why I use it as the title to my blog – mixed with some negative words by the commenter. I do not see my use of Queer as negative; it is a broad term meant to include all christians that are gay, queer, trans and so forth.

There are a segment of people that tell me that I can not or should not be a christian because I am gay. As though being gay is some kind of exclusive club. For me, I take my faith as a spiritual journey. As for me, I can leave all the dogma out if it. It’s not to say that I won’t quote a scripture here and there. But, also will not let the bible or scripture become an idol to me either. Ideally, we need to follow our heart and not use words to harm others. But, that doesn’t mean that when people are using their faith to harm that I or others should not be clear on calling it out. And the same is true for words used to describe the LGBTQIA or gay community. If your intent to use the world ‘Fag’ is to harm then people will know. And if I feel comfortable saying that, “Yes, I am a fag. So, what?”, then, that too should be understood as fine because it is used as armor for self empowerment as a way to reclaim what the rest of the world has distorted.

So, I urge you to check out Arielle’s video (click here to watch) on the topic and hear what she has to say about it. And subscribe to her channel while you are there for some great videos on various topics.

Hugs, Ryan

Posted on April 11, 2014, in Queer as Faith Blog and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

